Saturday, December 24, 2011

Scary Xmas

Spotted these at VIX Emporium in West Philly, while we were out looking for one last gift...


Happy holidays, everyone.

Monday, October 31, 2011

Halloween in West Philly

Happy Halloween, everyone!

We spent the afternoon and evening in West Philly, taking in the local festivities, like the Tot Parade, Little Osage, and the Haunted Garden. Here's the evidence:





















Sunday, October 30, 2011

Cover Band Halloween

I've been seeing this poster around town, but each one I found was damaged in some way. Finally, this weekend, I found a complete one. It was raining, but hopefully enough of the detail can be seen.

I love the concept - after all, cover bands are pretty appropriate for the holiday...


Saturday, October 29, 2011

Friday, October 28, 2011

Satellite Spiders

A couple of the iron spiders that reside on the gates of the Satellite coffee shop in West Philly...



Thursday, October 27, 2011

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Monday, October 24, 2011

Sunday, October 23, 2011

Zombie poster

Here's the poster for the restored version of Zombie that showed in theaters this past Friday & Saturday nights...


It's out on Blu-Ray tomorrow, in case you missed it.

Saturday, October 22, 2011

Hear Again Radio Project


Of course I love horror fiction and horror films. But I really love the kind of horror that's not so easily found any more. I'm talking about things like gritty pre-code horror comics, the stage plays of the Grand Guignol, and old-time radio drama.

Luckily, if you happen to be in Philadelphia either today or tomorrow, you can catch the Hear Again Radio Project's Halloween Spooktacular, during which they will perform two episodes from the classic series "Lights Out".



Performances are at 4pm and 7pm, today and tomorrow, at Plays and Players.

Friday, October 21, 2011

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Return of the Living Dead-Step

Spotted this recently in Old City, Philadelphia...


...and I found this color version online...


Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Skeleton

I found this guy in a craft store in the early '90s, while I was searching for some art supplies...


Monday, October 17, 2011

Dracula on Stage

While we're on the topic of vampires, here's an old poster from a stage adaptation of Dracula (in, I believe, 1928):


Sunday, October 16, 2011

Vampire

When I found that zombie toy I posted a week or so ago, this guy was sitting right next to him...


Saturday, October 15, 2011

Nosferatu again

Last year, I blogged about the flyer I designed for a screening of Nosferatu, which was being shown at The Rotunda with a live original score.


Well, it looks like they're doing it again this year. Only this time it's at the International House. And I didn't do a flyer. I'm not involved with it at all, actually, but I still support it wholeheartedly! So if you're in Philly tonight, go check it out. Show starts at 8, and it's $10 to get in (less if you're a student or IHP member).

Friday, October 14, 2011

Ray Villafane

You call yourself a pumpkin carver? Chances are you've got nothing on Ray Villafane. Here's a few examples of his incredible work, but there are many more at his site.